Changing How I Plan

Many of us just started using new planners. I in particular just started using the new Happy Planners 2016-17. I got it in March and just put it away until it got closer to July when I would crack it open to use it.

The longer I used my 2015-16 Happy Planner, I realized that I would go into my new planner differently than how I started the older one.

So let me back up a bit. When I first got the Happy Planer back in October 2015, I watched a TON and I mean a TON of plan with me videos. I went through I don’t know how many hash tags and was just inspired by all of the different planner spreads.

Seeing all of these colorful spread made me feel like I (emphasis on I) needed to plan (mostly decorate) this way. So I went out, bought all the stickers, all the washi (I still do this lol!) and found so many free printable sticker sheets.

I’m thinking “Ok this is how I will plan” Now at first it was fun, I loved the process, I loved the result and, people seemed to love my photos, so I kept doing it.

Well…after a while I realized that I was using my planner mostly to decorate and not plan so much, which is not the point of planner.

It wasn’t until about maybe the end of April when I realized “less is more” for me. I still loved my colorful washi, but using sticker sheets to cover every single white space wasnt me anymore.

Once I realized this, it was like a breath of fresh air. I then strategized how I needed to plan so it was beneficial to me. So here we are.

The way I used to plan was

  • Pick out stickers
  • Pick out washi
  • Decorate
  • Plan my week
  • Then realize I have to write more than the space I allowed myself

This clearly wasn’t working for me for obvious reasons. After changing some things around here is how I plan, and it works!

  • Look to the week I’m on, on monthly view
  • Write tasks for that week on specified days
  • Utilize the notes side (never did this before but now its very helpful as just a bullet list for my week
  • Put washi down

Doing my planning this way, is so much better than how I used to do it. My planner is not only more functional, I still have my color, BUT it doesn’t interfere with anything else I may need to add throughout the week.

The moral to my post is this. Plan how YOU want to plan, not how others plan. Everyone prioritizes differently. Some people love their planners to be very colorful, some people dont care abut color and just need a fully functional planner. None of it is wrong! whats important is planning the way that works for you! 🙂

Have you changed how you plan? Let me know in the comments!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ammabelle says:

    I totally agree!!!! Those “plan with me” videos are missing the whole point by not having the “planning” part. I’ve watched a ton of those to get ideas on how to actually plan but they’ve only shown how to fill up every space with stickers. Lol! Great point!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

