GTD Method Planning

GTD method also known as the Getting Things Done method is a way of planning

The GTD method rests on the idea of moving planned tasks and projects out of the mind by recording them externally and then breaking them into actionable work items. This allows one to focus attention on taking action on tasks, instead of on recalling them.

As you all know I am a functional planner. I write every and anything down that needs to be done in my life. I choose function over decor, because its the best way for me. Little did I know, I was actually following the GTD method without realizing it. About 2 months ago, I stumbled across Boho Berry’s post about GTD and it resonated with me. I knew it was the way I needed to continue to plan.

In a nutshell what you want to do is write down everything you need to do. If you can achieve in 5 minutes or less, get it done! and move longer tasks down the line. If its something you can’t do today, move it to the next day. GTD is all about starting, and completing tasks

Once you complete your tasks reflect on them, and see what you need to do next. This is the perfect time to make sure you didnt miss something, if so you can always go back and correct it.

I love using this method of planning because it helps me stay productive, and it gets the necessary tasks out of the way so I can concentrate on bigger tasks.

For instance when I start a blog post its never done all in one day. I tend to delegate different parts of my blog posts (and videos) to different days, that way its not rushed.

This post that I am typing right now is being done on October 29th. But you see its November 7th. What I will do on October 31st is film the video for this, and edit it. On November 2nd I will upload it, to go live on November 8th.

All of those tasks are at least 20-30 minute jobs so they have to be delegated elsewhere, that way I can take care of my smaller tasks. Does this all make sense.

I highly recommend checking out this method. There is also a book called Getting Things Done – The Art Of Stress-free Productivity.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Let me know in the comments if you do this, plan on it, or if you’re thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

